Step 2: Then And Now, Ventura Pier And Beach Culture


As I mentioned in Step 1, I was recently asked by the Ventura County Museum to re-create a series of turn of the century photographs. I was able to execute most of them, and will hopefully be finishing them up within the next few days. As you may be able to see, I returned to the same locations and was able to re-create the images through the placement of my subjects within the environments. I will admit that some turned out better than others. For example in the fourth photograph the beach goes through many changes, one of them being the height of the dunes and the change of vantage points. But, I worked with what I had and I am happy with the results. My next step is to submit these to the museum and determine which images will be showcased in the upcoming exhibit.

Ventura Pier and Beach Culture 1, Girls and Boys

Ventura Pier and Beach Culture

Ventura Pier and Beach culture

Ventura Pier and Beach Culture, Sands and visitors

Ventura Pier and Beach Culture, the pier

~ by Ryan Loughridge on 2011/05/06.

2 Responses to “Step 2: Then And Now, Ventura Pier And Beach Culture”

  1. Ryan… These are simply wonderful. I especially like the scene on the pier with everyone walking. I am sure everyone will have lots of fun with these photos. I am sure that even your subjects had lots of fun being part of this.

  2. Good job, Ryan! I think you have captured the “Then and Now” idea of the project with the present culture portrayed very well.

Leave a Reply

 
